PlayBuddy
April 23, 2024, 08:37:12 AM

This week's Club Pogo challenges!
Garden Blast : Use 120 rockets or rocket power-up combos this week! [Download Cheat]
World Class Solitaire HD : Place 200 cards into the foundation stacks this week! [Download Cheat]

Main Menu

Confused on Shooting the Moon

Started by arniebear,

Previous topic - Next topic

arniebear

I have a question for all you who play Hearts, I am not very good at card games and just play basic Hearts.  I understand that to Shoot The Moon you have take all the Hearts and Queen of Spades.  Exactly what kind of strategy is used for this? In the options there is nothing about Shooting the Moon, only Shoot the Sun, whatever that is.  Please explain to a very confused and stupid card player  :((

Stinkerbell

Quote from: arniebear on January 22, 2009, 08:17:36 AM
I have a question for all you who play Hearts, I am not very good at card games and just play basic Hearts.  I understand that to Shoot The Moon you have take all the Hearts and Queen of Spades.  Exactly what kind of strategy is used for this? In the options there is nothing about Shooting the Moon, only Shoot the Sun, whatever that is.  Please explain to a very confused and stupid card player  :((

For one thing, most players, unless they KNOW you're trying to shoot the moon, will gladly pass the Q of spades to you, because the idea in this game is to have the fewest points and that one is worth 13.  Each heart is worth 1.  So, when you're planning your hand you want to keep high cards to play that will take the trick, for example the AKQ of spades will take the queen, so keep those in your hand.  Hanging onto other high cards such as hearts, will enable you to play those first and take the tricks... for example, AKQJ played first will take whatever suit it is in, such as hearts.  You can clean up the hearts this way.