Pogo Cheats
PogoCheats.net Community
PlayBuddy

Windows 10 Cortana Off

Author Topic: Windows 10 Cortana Off  (Read 1603 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline s1lentscream

  • Garnet
  • ***
  • Posts: 1346
  • Gender: Male
Windows 10 Cortana Off
« on: January 28, 2018, 06:32:34 pm »
Greetings all you PogoCheats,
 
After my problems with Malwarebytes program, I looked at the other Memory Hogs in Task Manager.  Well Windows Cortana is the next "Hog ...so I googled how to remove Cortana.  After a few attempts, YouTuber has the answer.

I do not use Cortana...and after Killing her...my system runs much better.

Let me Know what you say.

S1lent

Online Mayhem

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10410
  • Gender: Male
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2018, 12:24:04 am »
Disabling Cortana was one of the first things I did when I installed Win 10.

My system can handle it, but I'm not interested in speaking in to a mic and dictate what to do.
It's not dumb if it works!

Offline Squid

  • Diamond
  • *****
  • Posts: 26534
  • *glub*
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2018, 03:21:55 am »
I never use Cortana, I should do this.

Offline Squid

  • Diamond
  • *****
  • Posts: 26534
  • *glub*
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2018, 03:47:47 am »
I have the Home version which is tougher to handle.  It means going into the registry, probably creating a key, etc.  It's tricky.  While I want Cortana gone, I do not have good luck with computers and might just leave well enough alone.

Online Mayhem

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10410
  • Gender: Male
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2018, 08:15:33 am »
I guess I missed a step and never completely disabled mine ... because I never did anything with the registry.
It's not dumb if it works!

Offline Squid

  • Diamond
  • *****
  • Posts: 26534
  • *glub*
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2018, 08:30:38 am »
You must have the Pro version.  I have the Home version

Offline Squid

  • Diamond
  • *****
  • Posts: 26534
  • *glub*
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2018, 08:32:42 am »
 type “winver” into the Start menu search box

Offline gigi

  • Amethyst
  • ***
  • Posts: 1715
  • Gender: Female
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2018, 08:36:37 am »
at least I learned what it is.  I have so many apps on my phone, IPad and computer that I have no idea what they are................. other that preinstalled.  I'm afraid to get rid of anything I didn't put there because I don't know what other programs (whatever's) will be affected.  And.  My task manager says Cortana is out there, but it's not in my uninstall program, so, like you Squid, I think I'll just leave well enough along
Thanks everyone.............. good read

Online Mayhem

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10410
  • Gender: Male
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2018, 09:10:47 am »
You must have the Pro version.  I have the Home version

I have the Home version as well. I never did get the Pro version as it has features I'll never use.
It's not dumb if it works!

Offline s1lentscream

  • Garnet
  • ***
  • Posts: 1346
  • Gender: Male
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2018, 10:04:52 am »
Greetings all you PogoCheats,
Here is a YouTube video that really worked for me.  The author makes it easy to follow.
My computer was running two versions of CORTANA so it was sucking up twice as much memory...and at my age (71 ouch)  Only have so much left.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60-A_DpL6R8

Or you can search youtube for "How to disable Cortana"  it is about 8 minute video

S1lent

Offline Squid

  • Diamond
  • *****
  • Posts: 26534
  • *glub*
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2018, 12:38:46 pm »
Hmmm, that utube video seems pretty straight forward.  Should I muster the courage?

How do I set up a restore point?  I'll check around...

Offline s1lentscream

  • Garnet
  • ***
  • Posts: 1346
  • Gender: Male
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2018, 02:58:55 pm »
Greetings Squid and all you other PogoCheats,
It is not necessary to create a Restore Point...but go ahead...it is a good idea.
Open Control Panel, click on System, click on System Protection and then click on Create.
Here is a pic.


Here is an easy way to reverse the process.  Rename the "Cortana" file (the one that you renamed earlier) back to the original file name.
Here is a picture of the Original Cortana file and its location.


Then you need to go and just Delete the "Key" you created in your Computer's Register.

Wow...I'm writing this without any wine...got one hour to wait.
Good luck
S1lent

Offline s1lentscream

  • Garnet
  • ***
  • Posts: 1346
  • Gender: Male
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2018, 03:28:23 pm »
Hi,
You will note that in Task Manager there are several versions running at the same time...this is normal. 

Google Chrome takes advantage of these properties and puts web apps and plug-ins in separate processes from the browser itself. This means that a rendering engine crash in one web app won’t affect the browser or other web apps. It means the OS can run web apps in parallel to increase their responsiveness, and it means the browser itself won’t lock up if a particular web app or plug-in stops responding. It also means we can run the rendering engine processes in a restrictive sandbox that helps limit the damage if an exploit does occur.

Basically, each tab has one process unless the tabs are from the same domain. The renderer has a process for itself. Each plug-in will have one and so will each extension that is active.

This is what the different browsers look on my computer.
S1lent


Offline Squid

  • Diamond
  • *****
  • Posts: 26534
  • *glub*
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2018, 04:20:13 pm »
Greetings Squid and all you other PogoCheats,
It is not necessary to create a Restore Point...but go ahead...it is a good idea.
Open Control Panel, click on System, click on System Protection and then click on Create.
Here is a pic.


Here is an easy way to reverse the process.  Rename the "Cortana" file (the one that you renamed earlier) back to the original file name.
Here is a picture of the Original Cortana file and its location.


Then you need to go and just Delete the "Key" you created in your Computer's Register.

Wow...I'm writing this without any wine...got one hour to wait.
Good luck
S1lent
Helpful!  Thank you, S1lent

Offline s1lentscream

  • Garnet
  • ***
  • Posts: 1346
  • Gender: Male
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2018, 04:24:58 pm »
Greetings,
Here are two additional scans for Windows 10.  My scan found a couple of things and corrected them.

Here to help...really
S1lent

1 Run the following commands in Windows PowerShell (Admin) Just right click on Windows Start Icon

sfc /scannow

2 Repair Windows Image.

Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

Online Mayhem

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10410
  • Gender: Male
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2018, 12:35:38 am »
I see Cortana in my Task Manager and it's only using 41mb ram and 0% CPU resources.

I'm wondering if I should even bother taking the extra steps to completely disable it.
It's not dumb if it works!

Offline Squid

  • Diamond
  • *****
  • Posts: 26534
  • *glub*
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2018, 03:32:09 am »
It's not taking a huge chunk of the RAM and none of the resources?  I see your point...

Offline s1lentscream

  • Garnet
  • ***
  • Posts: 1346
  • Gender: Male
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2018, 12:21:11 pm »
Greetings all you PogoCheats,
I am surprised...My Cortana Came Back.  The old Killed file is still there.  Microsoft is not gonna let us do it.

So Sorry,
S1lent

Offline Squid

  • Diamond
  • *****
  • Posts: 26534
  • *glub*
Re: Windows 10 Cortana Off
« Reply #18 on: January 30, 2018, 12:50:32 pm »
Eeeek, BIG BROTHEResque

Quick Reply

With Quick-Reply you can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post. Click on the "Preview" button to access the full editor.

Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
Unless you're sure you want to reply, please consider starting a new topic.

Your post won't be displayed until it's approved.
Don't use your real name - use an alias instead.
Name: Email: